Chicken and Noodles

For this post, I made Ree Drummond’s Homemade Chicken and Noodles. Chicken and noodle soup is my favorite food in the world. I could literally eat it every day (and did for a while in middle and high school). I am pretty critical of chicken noodle soups. If I say a chicken and noodle soup recipe is delicious, trust me, it’s good. This is one of those recipes. The only thing I would change would be to add just a hair more salt. That’s it and that’s totally a personal preference thing.

I cut this recipe in half, expecting it to last several days. Yeah right. I nearly ate the whole pot in one sitting. It is seriously at that level of awesome. I somehow managed to save about 2/3 of a serving for lunch the next day and I was sad when my bowl was empty. This was so, so, so easy to make too. I didn’t have to touch the chicken, which is always a plus because raw chicken is gross. The veggies were basic and didn’t require extra prep. I didn’t have to have chicken broth, which is a huge benefit because it’s expensive and I go through way too much as it is. The broth was delicious all on its own. I also already had all of the herbs and spices on hand.

This recipe has also opened my eyes to how delicious fresh pasta can be and this pasta wasn’t even technically fresh since it’s been frozen. I used the Ream’s frozen egg noodles, as suggested in the recipe and they were amazing. It was my first introduction to Ream’s and oh goodness, they were awesome.

Bear thought this was amazing as well. She ate about half a serving herself and went crazy for the noodles. She was eating so fast I couldn’t even keep up with her.

This was definitely a success and I will be making it again, many, many times in the future.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

